Welsh girl trying to find her way in the world. All round Blogger with a passion for Fictional Characters.

Powered by Blogger.

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin Review

Wales, UK
Happy Monday Everyone, so today we have my review of Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin. I had the privilege of reading this book as part of Jenny's book tour.

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin

Sometimes hope has a way of changing everything…
Just hours after giving birth, Eli Bell is forced to give up her newborn baby daughter for adoption. Devastated, she tries desperately to rebuild her shattered life.

Then, over thirty years later, Eli catches sight of her daughter. And she knows that she must do everything to find a way back into her life. Even if it means lying…
While her husband Tommy must grow to accept his own part in the events of her early life, he can only try to save her before her obsession with the young woman ruins them both.

Don’t miss the breathtaking debut Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin! Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Anne Tyler & Joyce Carol Oates.

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin

This book is a real page turner, it will toy with your emotions and have you reaching for the tissues. Em has written a truly compelling story that will tug at your heart strings.

I really enjoyed how Em tells the story Eli and Tommy and how she lets all the events unfold on their journey to their happy ending. I found that Eli’s heartbreak was very well written and you can’t help but keep turning the pages to find out more. As you read on you learn more about Eli’s feelings and how she has survived after having to give up her child. I can only imagine how heartbreaking that would be.

Eli’s search for her daughter is a full of twists and turns that will keep you wanting to read more, this book is a perfect evening read, all cosy and ready to get lost in her world. Praise for Em on her debut novel, it’s written with such emotion.

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin
Em Muslin has worked in the film and television industry for over 20 years. She first fell in love with reading and writing after experiencing Judith Kerr's When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit. She hasn't stopped devouring books ever since. 

She loves words that capture an experience or emotion in a singular form: her current favourite, describing herself, isnemophilist

Em's writing career has included developing a script for a stage musical with Tina Turner, and writing a bitter-sweet comedy screenplay, Last Chance Saloon

Em's writing focuses on the texture of domestic life, relationships, family and the pressures of social convention. Her characters are often fighting to become the hero of their own story, searching for hope, despite the adversities that life inevitably brings.

Also available on Kobo/Barnes & Noble/iBooks/GooglePlay books 

"A heartbreaking novel about what happens when we don't have the power to make our own choices. BEFORE YOU WERE MINE is a moving and emotional story that is sure to touch readers' hearts." ~ Karen Katchur, author of THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN 

"5 STARS - A love story that surprises in so many ways. Em Muslin has written a great debut book here. Before You Were Mine explores love on so many levels it had me reaching for the tissues more than once. It's heartening to see people who seem totally self-serving suddenly step up and make things right. I would like to share some fudge pie and coffee with Eli."  - Jo Ann Mapson Best selling author of  author of: Owen's Daughter/Finding Casey/Solomon's Oak/The Owl & Moon Cafe/The Bad Girl Creek trilogy/The Wilder Sisters/Hank & Chloe; Loving Chloe/Shadow Ranch/ Blue Rodeo

Em Muslin’s Debut novel is heart stoppingly beautiful.
Muslin was born to write, her observations are breathtaking
I was so involved in the story, I missed my stop on the train.'
- Lynn Parson - Radio Broadcaster

5 STARS -Pleasing to the mind, 
​Em Muslin's debut novel, "Before You Were Mine" is written with a beautiful touch where heartbreak meets love and loneliness meets freedom. Every reader can benefit from reading this book as it grabs onto your heart strings and pulls you in to compelling story that includes all aspects of family. This story is not only a great piece of literature, the story unfolds into much more than just Eli's obsession but digs deeper into the life she left behind years ago. - Biblio Beauty Book Blog

Publisher: Harper Collins

The giveaway is International a £10 or $10 (depending on where the winner is from) Amazon giftcard.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
*This e-book was gifted to me for an honest review as part of Jenny's book tour.

No comments

Thank you so much for checking out my blog. All comments are welcomed and appreciated.